Our Board of Directors


The Board of Directors of CAH consists of nine (9) directors elected by the members of the Corporation at the Annual General Meeting. Board members may choose to become involved in one or more of the committees necessary for the good governance of CAH: Executive Management Evaluation Committee, Treasury and Audit Committee, CAH Member Relations Committee, Board of Directors Nominating Committee, Building Committee, Legal and Complaints Committee, and Governance Committee.

Following the 2022 AGM, the Board met to elect a new team. We would like to thank the outgoing members for their much appreciated services: Colette Raphaël and Pierre Gravel.

News from the Board of Directors (as of September 16, 2022) 


On September 15, 2022, the first ever Board of Directors COCKTAIL was held. At the 2022 AGM, some members had mentioned they would like to have the opportunity to get to know the directors. The Board of Directors decided to offer a cocktail to meet CAH members and employees. The Board took the opportunity to congratulate the CAH team on the excellent work they have done, which has earned CAH the recent Accreditation Canada with Honours award!

The event was a great success and will become a CAH tradition and a privilege of the voting members of the corporation. Here is the photo gallery taken at the September 15, 2022 cocktail party.


The members of the Board of Directors for the year 2021-2022 are:


Denis Frawley



Denis Frawley was a member of the CAH Board of Directors from 2013 to 2020, and joined in 2021 to begin a new term.  He is also a member of the Legal and Complaints Committee. He is now chair of the board.

Denis is an associate practicing corporate, commercial and securities law at Ormston List Frawley LLP, a firm he co-founded in 2006.

From this firm, Denis advises clients operating in the mining and exploration sector mining and exploration (in Canada and elsewhere in the world), high technology and other sectors likely to attract innovative business people. A native of Sudbury, he completed his B.A. in Social Sciences at the University of Ottawa in 1996, and his law studies at McGill University in 1996 (B.A. in Common Law and Civil Law). He was admitted to the Ontario Bar (1998) and the New York Bar (1997). After living in New York for several years, where he became a partner in an international law firm, he moved to Toronto in 2005.  He is active on several committees of the Canadian Bar Association.  With his spouse, Denis has two children.


Joyce Irvine



Raised in Burlington, Ontario, Joyce Irvine completed her undergraduate studies at McMaster University in Hamilton and her graduate studies at Harvard University in Boston. She holds a master’s degree in French literature and did doctoral work. Now retired, Joyce is a seasoned manager with extensive experience in the public and not-for-profit sectors at the federal, provincial and community levels. After serving as French language services coordinator in several provincial ministries and holding senior positions in community organizations, Joyce worked as a consultant specializing in French language services, official languages, project management and strategic planning. She continues to provide translation and revision services.

Over her career, Joyce has also been a member of several boards of directors (Réseau franco-santé du Sud de l’Ontario, Reflet Salvéo). Joyce has been a member of CAH since 2010 and a member of its board from 2010 to 2018; she served as board president from 2012 to 2014 and from 2015 to 2017 and sat on several committees. Following a one-year hiatus, she returned as the board secretary in 2019.


Sylvie Lavoie 



Sylvie Lavoie has been a member of the Chartered Professional Accountants of Ontario since 1992. After studying in the Bahamas and Boca Raton, Florida, she completed a Bachelor of Management degree from York University in 1976. Her experience in accounting, internal audit, accounting systems and operations includes Canadian General Electric, Ultramar Canada and Tupperware Canada. Since 1989, she has been a consultant, helping small and medium-sized businesses choose software, apply it and train staff to manage their own finances. Sylvie Lavoie taught part-time at Seneca College and was Treasurer of the Toronto Hydroplane and Sailing Club for two years. She currently is the Treasurer of Reflet Salvéo and Toronto Search and Rescue (TSAR).

Sylvie is founder and president of the Fondation Hélène-Tremblay Lavoie Foundation, created in 2010 to help address a critical shortage of long-term care and dementia care for Francophones in the Greater Toronto Area. The Foundation is the way to advocate on behalf of Francophones, particularly those in the later stages of their lives, to give them the opportunity to live in French and enjoy a well-deserved quality of life equal to what all Ontariens are entitled to expect.

She was CAH’s Treasurer from 2008 to March 2011 and rejoined the Board of Directors in 2017 where she is currently Chair of the Treasury Committee.


Carmelle Salomon-Labbé



(Bio coming soon)




Diane Saint-Pierre




(Bio coming soon)







Geneviève Grenier



Originally from Quebec, Genevieve Grenier has lived in the Toronto area for almost 20 years. Genevieve is a member of the Ontario CPA Society and was awarded the title of Fellow by her association in 2014 for her commitment to her profession.

She holds a Master of Business Administration from the Royal Military College. She currently holds the position of Vice President of Membership Development at CPA Canada. Prior to joining CPA Canada, she held the position of Senior Director of Finance and Technology for Rona. For several years, she has been involved in the Francophone community in Ontario; she has represented the Region of Peel for the Francophone school board since 2014. Her community involvement has also led her to sit on various audit committees. She now considers herself a proud Franco-Ontarian and is happy to be able to raise her two daughters in an environment that embraces the Francophonie.

She joined the CAH Board of Directors in September 2021 as a Director.


Julia Ballerio-Dupé



Julia Ballerio-Dupé grew up in Montreal and then moved to Vancouver to pursue her university education. She then chose Toronto to complete her Masters in Public and International Affairs at York University (Glendon Campus). She has been working in the public sector for several years. Her areas of expertise include event management, government relations and communications.

Passionate about the Francophonie and community involvement, Julia is committed to giving back to her community. She has served on various boards of directors and volunteered with various organizations for many years. She joined the CAH Board of Directors in October 2020 as a Director.


Marek Nesvadba



Marek Nesvadba, grew up in Montreal where he completed his college studies at Collège Jean-de-Brébeuf. After graduating from McGill University with a bachelor’s degree in industrial relations, Marek began a 22-year career in human resources with two large multinational organizations. He then became vice-president and general manager for a company working in the industrial distribution sector. Today, Marek is president of a consulting firm in Toronto.

He joined the CAH Board of Directors in October 2015 and filled the role of Secretary in 2017. He was Chair of the Appointments Committee and also a member of the Governance Committee. he returns in 2022-23 as a director.


Safia Fakim



Bio à venir